Unreal Composite image

I’m no stranger to composite images, I do them all the time through my work with children.  Children are very good at wanting to be seen in the context of fantasy situations!  The challenges with composite images are the different elements need to gel together well in terms of perspective, colour, light and sharpness.

I generally include an overlaying filter to these types of images to make them appear seamless.  In the image below the dinosaur was far more vibrant than the background so included a filter and it seemed more subtle albeit a strange atmosphere.  The four elements I combined are

  • the background (steps and children)
  • the sky
  • the trees
  • the dinosaur

I really wanted the children to look scared but they had such a good time during shooting they kept laughing.  However, I don’t think it makes the photograph seem any less real as there’s a dinosaur chasing them!

 

dinosaur-in-the-park

Leave a Reply

